What are the three categories of HIV?

Updated: Jul 27, 2020
  • Author: Shelley A Gilroy, MD, FACP, FIDSA; Chief Editor: Michael Stuart Bronze, MD  more...
  • Print

The CDC classifies HIV infection into 3 categories, as follows [10] :

  • Category A: Asymptomatic HIV infection without a history of symptoms or AIDS-defining conditions

  • Category B: HIV infection with symptoms that are directly attributable to HIV infection (or a defect in T-cell–mediated immunity) or that are complicated by HIV infection

  • Category C: HIV infection with AIDS-defining opportunistic infections

These 3 categories are further subdivided on the basis of the CD4+ T-cell count, as follows:

  • > 500/µL: Categories A1, B1, C1

  • 200-400/µL: Categories A2, B2, C2

  • < 200/µL: Categories A3, B3, C3

See Workup for more detail.

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!