What are the diagnostic criteria for pediatric migraine with aura?

Updated: Jan 02, 2019
  • Author: J Ivan Lopez, MD, FAAN, FAHS; Chief Editor: George I Jallo, MD  more...
  • Print

Migraine with aura includes the following types of headache [7] :

  • Typical aura with migraine

  • Typical aura with nonmigraine headache

  • Typical aura without headache

  • Familial hemiplegic migraine (FHM)

  • Sporadic hemiplegic migraine

  • Basilar-type migraine

Typical aura with migraine consists of the presence of the IHS criteria for migraine without aura, along with visual, sensory, or speech symptoms or any combination of the 3. In addition, development is gradual and the aura lasts no more than 60 minutes. Positive and negative features are experienced, and there is complete reversibility of symptoms. (See Presentation.)

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!