How is the risk for myelodysplastic syndrome (MDS) classified in the International Prognostic Scoring System (IPSS)?

Updated: Jul 24, 2018
  • Author: Emmanuel C Besa, MD; Chief Editor: Koyamangalath Krishnan, MD, FRCP, FACP  more...
  • Print

Each factor is given a score and totaled and the patient’s risk is classified according to the following:

  • 0 = Low risk
  • 0.5-1 = Intermediate risk - 1
  • 1.5-2 = Intermediate risk - 2
  • ≥2 = High risk

In 2012, a revised IPSS (IPSS-R) was released with five risk groups (very low, low, intermediate, high and very high). It refined the original model by incorporating more detailed cytogenetic prognostic categorization and cut-offs for hemoglobin levels, platelet counts and neutrophil count. The prognostic score is now weighted according to the severity of cytopenias in addition to the bone marrow blast percentage. [18]

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!