Which organizations have issued guidelines for the diagnosis and management of myelodysplastic syndrome (MDS)?

Updated: Jul 24, 2018
  • Author: Emmanuel C Besa, MD; Chief Editor: Koyamangalath Krishnan, MD, FRCP, FACP  more...
  • Print

In 2016, the World Health Organization (WHO) released a revision to its 2008 classification scheme for myelodysplastic syndrome (MDS). [38, 16]  The National Comprehensive Cancer Network  (NCCN) has included the revised WHO classificaton system in its 2017 updated guidelines. [24]

The two systems are compared in the table below.

Table. 2008 and 2016 World Health Organization (WHO) classifications of myelodysplastic syndromes (Open Table in a new window)

2008 WHO Classification [16] 2016 WHO Classification [38]
Refractory cytopenia with unilineage dysplasia (RCUD) encompassing refractory anemia (RA), refractory neutropenia (RN), and refractory thrombocytopenia (RT) MDS with single lineage dysplasia (MDS-SLD)
Refractory cytopenia with multilineage dysplasia (RCMD) MDS with multilineage dysplasia (MDS-MLD)
Refractory anemia with ringed sideroblasts (RARS)

MDS with ring sideroblasts (MDS-RS)

       MDS-RS with single lineage dysplasia (MDS-RS-SLD)
       MDS-RS with multilineage dysplasia (MDS-RS-MLD)                                                                                                                                               
Myelodysplastic syndrome associated with isolated del(5q)      MDS with isolated del(5q)
  MDS with excess blasts (MDS-EB)
Refractory anemia with excess blasts–1 (RAEB-1)      MDS-EB-1
Refractory anemia with excess blasts–2 (RAEB-2)      MDS-EB-2
Myelodysplastic syndrome, unclassified (MDS-U) MDS, unclassifiable (MDS-U)
       with 1% blood blasts
       with single lineage dysplasia and pancytopenia
       based on defining cytogenetic abnormality
Refractory cytopenia of childhood Refractory cytopenia of childhood

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!