How does the WHO classify subtypes of chronic myelomonocytic leukemia (CMML)?

Updated: Jul 24, 2018
  • Author: Emmanuel C Besa, MD; Chief Editor: Koyamangalath Krishnan, MD, FRCP, FACP  more...
  • Print

CMML may be associated with splenomegaly. This subtype overlaps with myeloproliferative disease (MPD) and may have an intermediate clinical course. CMML must be differentiated from classic chronic myelocytic leukemia, which is characterized by a negative Ph chromosome.

The 2008 WHO classification proposed that juvenile myelomonocytic leukemia and CMML be listed as separate entities within a group of myelodysplastic/myeloproliferative neoplasm (MDS/MPN) overlap syndromes. WHO criteria for these forms of CMML include splenomegaly and a WBC count greater than 13,000/μL.

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!