What are the French-American-British (FAB) classifications of myelodysplastic syndrome (MDS)?

Updated: Jul 24, 2018
  • Author: Emmanuel C Besa, MD; Chief Editor: Koyamangalath Krishnan, MD, FRCP, FACP  more...
  • Print

The FAB system classifies MDS into the following five subgroups, differentiating them from acute myeloid leukemia [14] :

  • Refractory anemia (RA)

  • RA with ringed sideroblasts (RARS)

  • RA with excess blasts (RAEB; 6-20% myeloblasts)

  • RAEB in transition to AML (RAEB-T; 21-30% myeloblasts)

  • Chronic myelomonocytic leukemia (CMML)

An underlying trilineage dysplastic change in the bone marrow cells is found in all subtypes.

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!