What are the cytogenetic types of myelodysplastic syndrome (MDS)?

Updated: Jul 24, 2018
  • Author: Emmanuel C Besa, MD; Chief Editor: Koyamangalath Krishnan, MD, FRCP, FACP  more...
  • Print

Cytogenetically, patients with MDS or AML fall into three groups:

  • Normal karyotype
  • Balanced chromosomal abnormality causing the generation of fusion oncogenes
  • Complex karyotypes (usually >3 abnormalities)

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!