How is solitary plasmacytoma staged?

Updated: Dec 31, 2019
  • Author: Suzanne R Fanning, DO; Chief Editor: Emmanuel C Besa, MD  more...
  • Print

Wiltshaw classified soft-tissue plasmacytoma into 3 clinical stages, as follows [3] :

  • Stage I – Limited to an extramedullary site
  • Stage II – Involvement of regional lymph nodes
  • Stage III – Multiple metastasis (although it is no longer a solitary plasmacytoma)

The therapeutic and prognostic value of this classification needs further evaluation.

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!