How is lymphoblastic lymphoma staged?

Updated: Sep 10, 2019
  • Author: Joseph M Tuscano, MD; Chief Editor: Emmanuel C Besa, MD  more...
  • Print


The Ann Arbor staging system is the widely used staging system for most subtypes of non-Hodgkin lymphoma (NHL), including lymphoblastic lymphoma. However, the Murphy staging system is commonly used in pediatric lymphoblastic lymphoma and has been shown to provide more useful prognostic information. Comparison of the Ann Arbor and Murphy staging systems in adults with lymphoblastic lymphoma demonstrated that the Ann Arbor system provided more accurate prediction of survival.

The Ann Arbor staging system is as follows:

  • Stage I – One site on 1 side of the diaphragm

  • Stage II – Multiple sites on 1 side of the diaphragm

  • Stage III – Sites on both sides of the diaphragm (mediastinal mass; pleural effusion; unresectable abdominal disease)

  • Stage IV – Disseminated disease, marrow, or central nervous system (CNS)

  • Subsets (E – Extranodal; S – Spleen; B symptoms – Temperature >38°C, weight loss >10% within 6 mo, drenching night sweats)

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!