What is the pathologic classification of diffuse large cell lymphoma?

Updated: Jun 12, 2019
  • Author: Shipra Gandhi, MBBS; Chief Editor: Emmanuel C Besa, MD  more...
  • Print

The classification of lymphomas has undergone significant modifications over the last 3 decades. Currently, 2 classification systems are widely used: the World Health Organization (WHO) and revised European-American (REAL) classification of lymphoid malignancies. [30, 4] The nomenclature of DLBCL has undergone several changes as a result of revisions in the pathological classification of lymphomas over the last decades. It had been previously named a diffuse histiocytic lymphoma (Rappaport’s classification), centroblastic lymphoma (Kiel’s classification), and a large cleaved follicular center cell or large cell immunoblastic lymphoma (working formulation). [30, 4, 3]

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!