What is the World Health Organization (WHO) classification for diffuse large B-cell lymphoma (DLBCL)?

Updated: Aug 20, 2020
  • Author: Shipra Gandhi, MBBS; Chief Editor: Emmanuel C Besa, MD  more...
  • Print

In addition to the GCB and ABC forms of DLBCL not otherwise specified (NOS), the World Health Organization (WHO) 2016 classification of lymphoid neoplasms lists the following subtypes of DLBCL [1] :

  • T-cell/histiocyte-rich large B-cell lymphoma
  • Primary DLBCL of the central nervous system (CNS)
  • Primary cutaneous DLBCL, leg type
  • Epstein-Barr virus–positive (EBV+) DLBCL, NOS
  • EBV+ mucocutaneous ulcer
  • DLBCL associated with chronic inflammation
  • Lymphomatoid granulomatosis
  • Primary mediastinal (thymic) large B-cell lymphoma
  • Intravascular large B-cell lymphoma
  • ALK-positive B-cell lymphoma
  • Plasmablastic lymphoma
  • Primary effusion lymphoma
  • Human herpesvirus 8 (HHV8)-positive DLBCL

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!