What are the main types of cutaneous B-cell lymphomas (CBCL)?

Updated: Feb 23, 2021
  • Author: Mohammad Muhsin Chisti, MD, FACP; Chief Editor: Emmanuel C Besa, MD  more...
  • Print

The NCCN and EORTC/ISCL guidelines recommend use of the WHO-EORTC classification for cutaneous B-cell lymphomas (CBCL), which distinguishes the following three main types [35] :

  • Primary cutaneous marginal zone lymphoma (PC-MZL)

  • Primary cutaneous follicle center cell lymphoma (PC-FCL)

  • Primary cutaneous diffuse large B-cell, leg type (PC-DLBCL, LT)

Of note, a germinal (or follicle) center phenotype and large cells in a skin lesion is not equivalent to diffuse large B-cell lymphoma (DLBCL) but is consistent with primary cutaneous germinal/follicle center lymphoma.

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!