What are the immunophenotypic subdivisions of diffuse large B-cell lymphoma (DLBCL)?

Updated: Feb 23, 2021
  • Author: Mohammad Muhsin Chisti, MD, FACP; Chief Editor: Emmanuel C Besa, MD  more...
  • Print

An immunophenotypical subdivision of DLBCL has been proposed that uses a combination of antibodies to CD10, bcl-6, and MUM-1 to divide DLBCL into germinal center B cell-like (GCB) and nongerminal center B cell-like (non-GCB) varieties. Cases that are CD10 positive or CD10 negative and bcl-6 positive but MUM-1 negative are regarded as GCB type, whereas all others are regarded as non-GCB or activated B-cell (ABC) type.

This immunophenotypical subdivision does not completely correlate with gene expression-based subgrouping of DLBCL. In the non-GCB or the ABC, bcl-2 expression is known to be associated with poor patient outcome.

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!