What are the five types of Hodgkin lymphoma (Hodgkin disease)?

Updated: Sep 12, 2018
  • Author: Bradley W Lash, MD; Chief Editor: Emmanuel C Besa, MD  more...
  • Print

The World Health Organization (WHO) classifies Hodgkin lymphoma into five types. [1] Nodular sclerosing, mixed cellularity, lymphocyte depleted, and lymphocyte rich are the four types referred to as classical Hodgkin lymphoma. The fifth type, nodular lymphocyte-predominant Hodgkin lymphoma (NLPHL), is a distinct entity with unique clinical features and a different treatment paradigm.

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!