What is the Ann Arbor classification for stages of Hodgkin lymphoma (Hodgkin disease)?

Updated: Sep 12, 2018
  • Author: Bradley W Lash, MD; Chief Editor: Emmanuel C Besa, MD  more...
  • Print

The Ann Arbor classification is used most often for Hodgkin lymphoma, as follows:

  • Stage I: A single lymph node area or single extranodal site

  • Stage II: 2 or more lymph node areas on the same side of the diaphragm

  • Stage III: Lymph node areas on both sides of the diaphragm

  • Stage IV: Disseminated or multiple involvement of the extranodal organs

See also the Medscape article Hodgkin Lymphoma Staging.

See Workup for more detail.

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!