What is the NIH classification of prostatitis?

Updated: Sep 07, 2018
  • Author: Samuel G Deem, DO; Chief Editor: Edward David Kim, MD, FACS  more...
  • Print

The National Institutes of Health (NIH) classification and definition of the categories of prostatitis are as follows:

  • Category I – Acute bacterial prostatitis (ie, acute infection of the prostate)

  • Category II – Chronic bacterial prostatitis (ie, recurrent urinary tract infection and/or chronic infection of the prostate)

  • Category III – Chronic abacterial prostatitis/chronic pelvic pain syndrome (ie, discomfort or pain in the pelvic region for at least 3 mo with variable voiding and sexual symptoms and/or no demonstrable infection; by definition, the syndrome becomes chronic after 3 mo)

  • Category IIIA – Inflammatory chronic pelvic pain syndrome (ie, white blood cells in semen and/or expressed prostatic secretions and/or third midstream bladder specimen)

  • Category IIIB – Noninflammatory chronic pelvic pain syndrome (ie, no white blood cells in semen and/or expressed prostatic secretions)

  • Category IV – Asymptomatic inflammatory prostatitis (ie, evidence of inflammation in biopsy samples, semen and/or expressed prostatic secretions, but no symptoms)

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!