How is erythroleukemia classified?

Updated: Dec 16, 2018
  • Author: Beata Holkova, MD; Chief Editor: Emmanuel C Besa, MD  more...
  • Print

Giovanni Di Guglielmo first described erythroleukemia in the early twentieth century, and the disorder is often still referred to as acute Di Guglielmo syndrome. It is classified as an M6 subtype of AML in the French-American-British (FAB) classification system on the basis of morphologic and cytochemical criteria. [2]

In 2016, the World Health Organization (WHO) revised its classification of myeloid neoplasms and acute leukemia and eliminated the erythroid/myeloid type of acute erythroleukemia. Cases previously classified as erythroid/myeloid subtype, based on the 2008 WHO classification, are currently categorized either as myelodysplastic syndrome with excess blasts or acute myeloid leukemia, not otherwise specified. [3]  

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!