How are hemolytic anemias classified?

Updated: Nov 26, 2019
  • Author: Joseph E Maakaron, MD; Chief Editor: Emmanuel C Besa, MD  more...
  • Print

All causes of hemolytic disorders are either hereditary or acquired. Similarly, they are due to either an intrinsic abnormality of the RBC (intracorpuscular defect) or external factors that shorten the erythrocyte life span (extracorpuscular). Using this nomenclature, only 4 groups of hemolytic disorders are possible—hereditary intracorpuscular, hereditary extracorpuscular, acquired intracorpuscular, and acquired extracorpuscular.

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!