What is the WHO classification of acute myeloid leukemia (AML)?

Updated: May 26, 2020
  • Author: Karen Seiter, MD; Chief Editor: Emmanuel C Besa, MD  more...
  • Print

The newer WHO classification is as follows [1] :

  • AML with recurrent genetic abnormalities: AML with t(8;21)(q22;q22), (AML1/ETO); AML with abnormal bone marrow eosinophils and inv(16)(p13q22) or t(16;16)(p13)(q22), (CBFB/MYH11); APL with PML/RARa; AML with t(9;11)(p21.3;q23.3), (MLLT3-KMT2A); AML with t(6;9)(p23;q34.1), (DEK-NUP214); AML with inv(3)(q21.3q26.2) or t(3;3)(q21.3;q26.2), (GATA2, MECOM); AML (megakaryoblastic) with t(1;22)(p13.3q133), (RBM15-MKL1), AML with BCR-ABL1; AML with mutated NPM1; AML with biallelic mutations of CEBPA. AML with mutated RUNX1

  • AML with myelodysplasia-related changes (following myelodysplastic syndrome (MDS) or MDS/myeloproliferative disease (MPD); without antecedent MDS or MDS/MPD but with dysplasia in at least 50% of cells in 2 or more lineages)

  • Therapy-related myeloid neoplasms. AML and MDS, therapy related - Alkylating agent or radiation-related type; topoisomerase II inhibitor type; others

  • AML, not otherwise classified - AML, with minimal differentiation; AML, without maturation; AML, with maturation; acute myelomonocytic leukemia; acute monoblastic or monocytic leukemia; pure erythroid leukemia; acute megakaryoblastic leukemia; acute basophilic leukemia; acute panmyelosis and myelofibrosis; myeloid sarcoma

See also Acute Myeloid Leukemia Staging.

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!