What is the AJCC staging system for breast cancer?

Updated: Feb 04, 2021
  • Author: Pavani Chalasani, MD, MPH; Chief Editor: John V Kiluk, MD, FACS  more...
  • Print

The American Joint Committee on Cancer (AJCC) provides two principal groups for breast cancer staging: anatomic, which is based on extent of cancer as defined by tumor size (T), lymph node status (N), and distant metastasis (M); and prognostic, which includes anatomic TNM plus tumor grade and the status of the biomarkers human epidermal growth factor receptor 2 (HER2), estrogen receptor (ER), and progesterone receptor (PR). The prognostic stage group is preferred for patient care and is to be used for reporting of all cancer patients in the United States. [107]

In turn, prognostic stages are divided into clinical and pathological groups. Pathological stage applies to patients who have undergone surgery as the initial treatment for breast cancer. It includes all information used for clinical staging plus findings at surgery and pathological findings from surgical resection. Pathological prognostic stage does not apply to patients who received neoadjuvant therapy (systemic agents or radiation prior to surgical resection). [75]  

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!