How are pressure injuries (pressure ulcers) staged?

Updated: Mar 26, 2020
  • Author: Christian N Kirman, MD; Chief Editor: John Geibel, MD, MSc, DSc, AGAF  more...
  • Print

For the purposes of workup and treatment, it is helpful to stage the pressure injury according to the system promulgated by the NPUAP, [2] as follows:

  • Stage 1 pressure injury - Nonblanchable erythema of intact skin
  • Stage 2 pressure injury - Partial-thickness skin loss with exposed dermis
  • Stage 3 pressure injury - Full-thickness skin loss
  • Stage 4 pressure injury - Full-thickness skin and tissue loss
  • Unstageable pressure injury - Obscured full-thickness skin and tissue loss
  • Deep pressure injury - Persistent nonblanchable deep red, maroon or purple discoloration

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!