What criteria are used in the organ allocation system for liver transplantation in patients with cirrhosis?

Updated: Oct 15, 2020
  • Author: David C Wolf, MD, FACP, FACG, AGAF, FAASLD; Chief Editor: BS Anand, MD  more...
  • Print


The need for a more efficient and equitable system of organ allocation resulted in dramatic changes in United States organ allocation policy in 2002. [72] Previously, patients who were accepted as liver transplant candidates with 7-9 CTP points (Child Class B) received low priority on the transplant waiting list maintained by the United Network for Organ Sharing (UNOS). Patients with 10 or more CTP points (Child Class C) received a higher priority. Emergent liver transplantation at UNOS status 1 was reserved primarily for noncirrhotic patients suffering from fulminant hepatic failure.

Since 2002, livers from deceased donors (ie, cadaveric organs) have been allocated to cirrhotic patients using the MELD scoring system and the Pediatric End-Stage Liver Disease (PELD) scoring system [55] (see the MELD Score calculator and the PELD Score calculator).

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!