What are the subtypes of primary constipation?

Updated: Mar 30, 2020
  • Author: Marc D Basson, MD, PhD, MBA, FACS; Chief Editor: BS Anand, MD  more...
  • Print

Primary (idiopathic, functional) constipation can generally be subdivided into the following three types:

  • Normal-transit constipation (NTC)

  • Slow-transit constipation (STC)

  • Pelvic floor dysfunction (ie, pelvic floor dyssynergia)

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!