What are the histologic stages of celiac disease (sprue)?

Updated: Nov 29, 2019
  • Author: Stephan U Goebel, MD; Chief Editor: BS Anand, MD  more...
  • Print

Histologically, duodenal biopsies can be graded into the following 5 stages:

  • Stage 0 - Normal

  • Stage 1 - Increased percentage of intraepithelial lymphocytes (>30%)

  • Stage 2 - Characterized by an increased presence of inflammatory cells and crypt cell proliferation with preserved villous architecture

  • Stage 3 - Mild (A), moderate (B), and subtotal to total (C) villous atrophy

  • Stage 4 - Total mucosal hypoplasia

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!