What is the Canadian Cardiovascular Society grading scale for the classification of angina pectoris severity?

Updated: Jul 19, 2018
  • Author: Jamshid Alaeddini, MD, FACC, FHRS; Chief Editor: Eric H Yang, MD  more...
  • Print

he Canadian Cardiovascular Society grading scale is used for classification of angina severity, as follows:

  • Class I - Angina only during strenuous or prolonged physical activity

  • Class II - Slight limitation, with angina only during vigorous physical activity

  • Class III - Symptoms with everyday living activities, ie, moderate limitation

  • Class IV - Inability to perform any activity without angina or angina at rest, ie, severe limitation

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!