What are the steps of cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR)?

Updated: Sep 15, 2020
  • Author: Catharine A Bon, MD; Chief Editor: Kirsten A Bechtel, MD  more...
  • Print


In its full, standard form, cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) comprises 3 steps: chest compressions, airway, and breathing (CAB), to be performed in that order in accordance with the 2010 American Heart Association (AHA) guidelines.

Note that artificial respirations are no longer recommended for bystander rescuers; thus, lay rescuers should perform compression-only CPR (COCPR). Healthcare providers, however, should perform all 3 components of CPR (chest compressions, airway, and breathing).

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!