What are the three major categories of congenital muscular dystrophy?

Updated: Aug 17, 2020
  • Author: Twee T Do, MD; Chief Editor: Jeffrey D Thomson, MD  more...
  • Print

The AAN/AANEM guidelines classify three major categories of CMDs:

  • Collagenopathies (also known as collagen VI−related myopathies), including Ullrich CMD and Bethlem myopathy
  • Merosinopathies (also known as merosin-deficient CMDs [MDCs], laminin α2 [ LAMA2]-related CMDs, and MDC1A
  • Dystroglycanopathies (also known as α-dystroglycan–related MDs), including Fukuyama CMD, muscle-eye-brain disease, and Walker-Warburg syndrome

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!