What are the types of muscular dystrophy?

Updated: Aug 17, 2020
  • Author: Twee T Do, MD; Chief Editor: Jeffrey D Thomson, MD  more...
  • Print

The etiology of MD is an abnormality in the genetic code for specific muscle proteins. [8] They all are classified according to the clinical phenotype, the pathology, and the mode of inheritance. The inheritance pattern includes the sex-linked, autosomal recessive, and autosomal dominant MDs. Within each group of heritable MDs (see below), several disorders exist. These are characterized by the clinical presentation and pathology.

Heritable MDs include the following:

  • Sex-linked MDs - Duchenne, Becker, Emery-Dreifuss
  • Autosomal dominant MDs - Facioscapulohumeral, distal, ocular, oculopharyngeal
  • Autosomal recessive MD – Limb-girdle form

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!