What are the histologic types of osteosarcoma?

Updated: Jul 01, 2020
  • Author: Charles T Mehlman, DO, MPH; Chief Editor: Omohodion (Odion) Binitie, MD  more...
  • Print

A number of different histologic types of osteosarcoma exist, as follows:

  • The conventional type is the most common in childhood and adolescence and has been subdivided according to the predominant features of the cells (osteoblastic, chondroblastic, or fibroblastic), though the subtypes are clinically indistinguishable
  • The telangiectatic type contains large, blood-filled spaces and is commonly seen in adolescence and early adulthood
  • The parosteal type usually arises from the bone cortex, is commonly a low grade tumor, and can be seen in childhood or adulthood; it most commonly arises on the distal posterior aspect of the femur
  • The periosteal type is a low- to intermediate-grade tumor that typically arises immediately below the periosteum in children; it most frequently involves the tibia and is more common in adults.

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!