What are the phases of subacute granulomatous thyroiditis?

Updated: Mar 23, 2021
  • Author: Stephanie L Lee, MD, PhD; Chief Editor: Romesh Khardori, MD, PhD, FACP  more...
  • Print

Some patients experience a flulike prodromal episode 1-3 weeks prior to the onset of clinical disease. The natural course of the disease can be divided into the following 4 phases, which usually unfold over a period of 3-6 months:

  • Acute phase - Lasts 3-6 weeks and presents primarily with pain; symptoms of hyperthyroidism also may be present

  • Transient asymptomatic and euthyroid phase - Lasts 1-3 weeks

  • Hypothyroid phase - Lasts from weeks to months; it may become permanent in 5-15% of patients

  • Recovery phase - Characterized by normalization of thyroid structure and function

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!