Which retinal findings are characteristic of hemoglobinopathy retinopathy?

Updated: Sep 03, 2019
  • Author: Brian A Phillpotts, MD; Chief Editor: Hampton Roy, Sr, MD  more...
  • Print

Changes in the posterior segment are divided into 4 major categories, as follows: optic disc changes, macular changes, nonproliferative retinal changes, and proliferative retinal changes. [1]

Classically, posterior segment changes are classified by either nonproliferative retinal changes (nonproliferative sickle retinopathy [NPSR]) or proliferative retinal changes (proliferative sickle retinopathy [PSR]). In NPSR, the retinal changes do not involve neovascularization as they do in PSR.

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!