What are the WHO diagnostic criteria for metabolic syndrome?

Updated: Jul 08, 2020
  • Author: Samuel T Olatunbosun, MD, FACP, FACE; Chief Editor: George T Griffing, MD  more...
  • Print

The World Health Organization (WHO) has also developed criteria for the diagnosis of the metabolic syndrome, as follows:

  • IFG level of 101-125 mg/dL

  • Impaired glucose tolerance (IGT) (glucose level of 140-199 mg/dL 2 h after administration of 75 g of glucose)

  • Glucose uptake level of less than the lowest quartile for ethnic population under hyperinsulinemic, euglycemic conditions if the fasting glucose level is normal

In addition to the aforementioned criteria, the diagnosis must also include two of the following:

  • Use of antihypertensive medication; blood pressure of 140 mm Hg systolic or higher, 90 mm Hg diastolic or higher, or both

  • Triglyceride level of 150 mg/dL or higher

  • HDL-C level of less than 35 mg/dL in men or less than 39 mg/dL in women

  • Body mass index (BMI) of more than 30 kg/m2, waist-to-hip ratio of more than 0.9 in men or more than 0.85 in women, or both

  • Urinary albumin excretion level of 20 mcg/min or higher or albumin-creatinine ratio of 30 mg/g or higher

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!