What are the stages of the morphogenesis of the lacrimal system?

Updated: Oct 08, 2019
  • Author: Grant D Gilliland, MD; Chief Editor: Edsel Ing, MD, MPH, FRCSC  more...
  • Print

The morphogenesis of the lacrimal system occurs in three stages, as follows: [6]

  1. Formative stage of the lacrimal lamina (Carnegie stages 16-18)
  2. Formative stage of the lacrimal cord (Carnegie stages 19-23)
  3. Maturative stage of the lacrimal system from week 9 of development onward

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!