How is herpes simplex virus (HSV) keratitis categorized?

Updated: Jan 18, 2019
  • Author: Jim C Wang (王崇安), MD; Chief Editor: Andrew A Dahl, MD, FACS  more...
  • Print

Since infectious responses and immune responses are responsible for ocular disease, it is better to classify the keratitis based on the anatomic location (ie, epithelial, stromal, endothelial) and the pathophysiology (ie, infectious, immune, neurotrophic). As a result, the following 4 major categories of HSV keratitis exist [16] :

  • Infectious epithelial keratitis

  • Neurotrophic keratopathy

  • Stromal keratitis

  • Endotheliitis

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!