What are the DSM-5 categorizations of narcolepsy?

Updated: Sep 04, 2019
  • Author: Sagarika Nallu, MD; Chief Editor: Selim R Benbadis, MD  more...
  • Print

Narcolepsy can be categorized as mild, moderate, or severe based on the frequency of cataplexy, need for naps, and disturbance of nocturnal sleep. In addition, the DSM-5 identifies five subtypes as follows: [9]

  • Narcolepsy without cataplexy but with hypocretin deficiency

  • Narcolepsy with cataplexy but without hypocretin deficiency

  • Autosomal dominant cerebellar ataxia, deafness, and narcolepsy

  • Autosomal dominant narcolepsy, obesity, and type 2 diabetes

  • Narcolepsy secondary to another medical condition

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!