What is included in general scoring of sleep stages?

Updated: Aug 19, 2019
  • Author: Andres A Gonzalez, MD, MMM, FACNS; Chief Editor: Selim R Benbadis, MD  more...
  • Print


Sleep will be scored using different stages: Stage W (wakefulness), Stage N1 (NonREM 1), Stage N2 (NonREM 2), Stage N3 (NonREM 3), and Stage R (Rapid Eye Movement). 

Sleep is scored using 30-second epochs, starting with the first epoch acquired. Each epoch is scored based on the greatest sleep stage amount comprising that time period. [12] If three or more stages are present, the first step is to determine if there is more wake or sleep. If more sleep is present, then the epoch is assigned the sleep stage that occurs in the majority of that epoch.

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!