What are the centronuclear myopathies (CNMs)?

Updated: Mar 11, 2019
  • Author: Matthew Harmelink, MD; Chief Editor: Amy Kao, MD  more...
  • Print

The centronuclear myopathies (CNM) can be divided into three categories based upon their inheritance pattern: (1) X-linked form, (2) autosomal recessive form, and (3) autosomal dominant form. Nomenclature is sometimes confusing given the numbering system is based upon recognition of the pathology and not on the inheritance pattern.

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!