How does the CDC classify neurosyphilis patient groups?

Updated: Jul 17, 2018
  • Author: Richard P Knudsen, MD, FAAN, FAAP; Chief Editor: Niranjan N Singh, MBBS, MD, DM, FAHS, FAANEM  more...
  • Print


The US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) criteria for neurosyphilis have the following 3 patient group classifications, based on the dominant clinical manifestations [18] :

  • Neuropsychiatric

  • Meningovascular

  • Myelopathic

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!