What are the types of fibromuscular dysplasia (FMD)?

Updated: Jul 27, 2018
  • Author: James A Wilson, MD, MSc, FRCPC; Chief Editor: Helmi L Lutsep, MD  more...
  • Print

Pathologically, FMD is classified into 3 main types, as follows [10, 11, 12] :

  • Intimal fibroplasia (< 10% of all cases of renal FMD)

  • Medial fibroplasia: Further classified into 3 subtypes: medial dysplasia (80% of renal cases and most carotid cases), perimedial fibroplasia (10-15% of all renal cases), and medial hyperplasia (1-2% of all renal cases)

  • Adventitial fibroplasia (< 1% of all renal cases)

Because these frequency figures are largely based on findings from renal studies, they may not reflect the distribution of FMD types in carotid disease.

See Workup for more detail.

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!