What are the two categories of drugs approved for use in multiple sclerosis (MS)?

Updated: Oct 08, 2019
  • Author: Christopher Luzzio, MD; Chief Editor: Jasvinder Chawla, MD, MBA  more...
  • Print

Drugs approved for use in MS that reduce the frequency of exacerbations or slow disability progression are referred to as disease-modifying drugs (DMDs). These DMDs can be further classified as immunomodulating (or receptor modulating) or immunosuppressives. Some immunosuppressants are also FDA-approved as antineoplastic agents.

Drugs that treat MS-related symptoms (eg, acute exacerbations, cognitive dysfunction, fatigue, spasticity, bowel and bladder problems, and pain) but do not modify the course of the disease are referred to as symptom-management medications.

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!