What are the categories of multiple sclerosis (MS)?

Updated: Oct 08, 2019
  • Author: Christopher Luzzio, MD; Chief Editor: Jasvinder Chawla, MD, MBA  more...
  • Print

MS is divided into the following categories, principally on the basis of clinical criteria, including the frequency of clinical relapses, time to disease progression, and lesion development on MRI [58, 2, 3, 4] :

  • Relapsing-remitting MS (RRMS)

  • Secondary progressive MS (SPMS)

  • Primary progressive MS (PPMS)

  • Progressive-relapsing MS (PRMS)

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!