Which disability scale is most commonly used to rate the status of a patient with multiple sclerosis (MS)?

Updated: Oct 08, 2019
  • Author: Christopher Luzzio, MD; Chief Editor: Jasvinder Chawla, MD, MBA  more...
  • Print

A patient may be rated according to several clinical disability scales, on the basis of findings on the history and physical examination. The most widely accepted of these is the 10-point Kurtzke Expanded Disability Status Scale (EDSS), which was developed originally in 1955 as the Disability Status Scale and has been revised over the years. [57]

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!