What are the different types of multiple sclerosis (MS)?

Updated: Oct 08, 2019
  • Author: Christopher Luzzio, MD; Chief Editor: Jasvinder Chawla, MD, MBA  more...
  • Print

MS is divided into the following categories, principally on the basis of clinical criteria, including the frequency of clinical relapses, time to disease progression, and lesion development on MRI: [1, 2, 3, 4]

  • Relapsing-remitting MS (RRMS): Approximately 85% of cases

  • Secondary progressive MS (SPMS)

  • Primary progressive MS (PPMS)

  • Progressive-relapsing MS (PRMS)

The following 2 subgroups are sometimes included in RRMS:

  • Clinically isolated syndrome (CIS): A single episode of neurologic symptoms

  • Benign MS: MS with almost complete remission between relapses and little if any accumulation of physical disability over time

See Workup for more detail.

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!