What are the clinical phases of herpes zoster (shingles)?

Updated: Feb 11, 2021
  • Author: Camila K Janniger, MD; Chief Editor: Dirk M Elston, MD  more...
  • Print

The clinical manifestations of can be divided into the following three phases:

  • Preeruptive phase (preherpetic neuralgia)

  • Acute eruptive phase

  • Chronic phase (PHN)

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!