What are the classifications of inherited thrombophilia?

Updated: Aug 31, 2020
  • Author: Padma Chitnavis, MD; Chief Editor: Dirk M Elston, MD  more...
  • Print

Inherited thrombophilia classifications are described below. [3]

Qualitative/quantitative defects of coagulation factor inhibitors are as follows:

  • Antithrombin deficiency

  • Protein C deficiency

  • Protein S deficiency

  • Heparin cofactor II deficiency

  • Tissue factor pathway inhibitor deficiency

  • Thrombomodulin deficiency

Increased levels/function of coagulation factors are as follows:

  • Activated protein C resistance and factor V Leiden

  • Prothrombin gene mutation (G20210A)

  • Dysfibrinogenemia and hyperfibrinogenemia

  • Elevated levels of clotting factors VII, VIII, IX, XI, and XII

Hyperhomocysteinemia is another class.

Defects of the fibrinolytic system are as follows:

  • Plasminogen

  • Tissue plasminogen activator

  • Thrombin-activatable fibrinolysis inhibitor

  • Factor XIII

  • Lipoprotein (a)

Altered platelet function conditions are as follows:

  • Platelet glycoprotein GPIb-IX

  • GPIa-IIa

  • GPIIb-IIIa

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!