What are the CEAP clinical classifications of chronic venous insufficiency (CVI)?

Updated: Oct 22, 2018
  • Author: Robert Weiss, MD; Chief Editor: William D James, MD  more...
  • Print

Clinical classification is as follows:

  • C0 - No visible signs of venous disease
  • C1 - Telangiectases or reticular veins
  • C2 - Varicose veins
  • C3 - Edema without skin changes
  • C4 - Changes in skin and subcutaneous tissue: A = Pigmentation or eczema; B = Lipodermatosclerosis or atrophie blanche
  • C5 - Healed ulcer
  • C6 - Active ulcer

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!