What is the Mitsuyasu system for staging Kaposi sarcoma (KS)?

Updated: Mar 26, 2021
  • Author: Robert A Schwartz, MD, MPH; Chief Editor: Dirk M Elston, MD  more...
  • Print

Another classification formula developed by Mitsuyasu in 1987 [66] divides Kaposi sarcoma into the following 4 stages:

  • Stage I - Localized nodular Kaposi sarcoma in elderly men in North America and Europe

  • Stage II - Localized, invasive, and aggressive Kaposi sarcoma (mostly seen in Africa)

  • Stage III - Disseminated mucocutaneous Kaposi sarcoma in African children and patients who are homosexual

  • Stage IV - Stage III with visceral involvement

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!