How is rosacea classified?

Updated: Jun 03, 2021
  • Author: Agnieszka Kupiec Banasikowska, MD; Chief Editor: William D James, MD  more...
  • Print

Based on specific clinical signs and symptoms, an expert committee assembled by the National Rosacea Society explicitly defined and classified rosacea into the following subtypes:

  • Erythematotelangiectatic type
  • Papulopustular
  • Phymatous
  • Ocular

Although didactically successful, the subtype designations were widely used individually and construed as distinct disorders, ignoring the frequent simultaneous occurrence of more than one subtype and potential progression of one subtype to another.

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!