What are the histologic differential diagnoses of seborrheic keratosis?

Updated: Oct 14, 2020
  • Author: Arthur K Balin, MD, PhD, FACP; Chief Editor: William D James, MD  more...
  • Print

The histologic differential diagnosis of seborrheic keratoses includes verruca vulgaris, fibroepithelial polyp, condyloma acuminatum, acanthosis nigricans, epidermal nevus, confluent and reticulated papillomatosis of Gougerot and Carteaud, hidroacanthoma simplex, [31] acrokeratosis verruciformis of Hopf, lentigo senilis, and tumor of the follicular infundibulum.

Acanthotic seborrheic keratoses may be confused with eccrine poromas, but no ductular differentiation is observed in seborrheic keratosis. Hidroacanthoma simplex can be distinguished from clonal seborrheic keratosis by the presence of ductal and cystic spaces histologically and by a lower density of Langerhans cells and fewer melanin granules in the intraepidermal nests. Verruca vulgaris can usually be differentiated from seborrheic keratoses because verruca vulgaris usually displays keratohyalin granule clumping, perinuclear vacuolization, and ectatic vessels within the papillary dermal tips.

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!