What are the WHO classifications of mastocytosis?

Updated: Sep 16, 2020
  • Author: Jacquiline Habashy, DO, MSc; Chief Editor: Dirk M Elston, MD  more...
  • Print

The World Health Organization (WHO) classification of mastocytosis includes the following [1, 2] :

  • Cutaneous mastocytosis - Urticaria pigmentosa, maculopapular cutaneous mastocytosis, diffuse cutaneous mastocytosis, mastocytoma of skin

  • Indolent systemic mastocytosis

  • Systemic mastocytosis with an associated (clonal) hematologic non–mast cell lineage disease

  • Aggressive systemic mastocytosis

  • Mast cell leukemia

  • Mast cell sarcoma

  • Extracutaneous mastocytoma [1, 2]

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!